The Hunger Games

Title: The Hunger Games
Writers : Suzanne Collins
Published: 1998
Genre: Fiction
My Rating: 4 on 5

Even though I read this book at the beginning of the year, I haven’t been able to jot down anything sensible which can be called as a review. I liked reading this book, I know what I liked about it, but I still can’t talk about it. It is so easy to talk about a book which I did not like, but ask me anything about a book I loved and I clam up. I wonder why.

I don’t think I need to mention what ‘The Hunger Games’ is all about. I must be the last living being on this earth to read this book. It is not that I was against reading this book, but a YA book about a ‘game to stay alive’ was as appealing to me as an essay on thermodynamics. I was forced to pick this book up in the library for lack of other options. I am glad I did because I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It had been a while since I read a page turner, and my thirst for ‘quick and good read’ was quenched with this book.

 

 

Instead of going on about what happens in the book, let me just list down some of the things I liked about this book:

1. Plot/concept/storyline

Kudos to the author for coming up with this intriguing concept of different districts, a dictator capital and of course the games themselves to ‘punish’ the districts. ‘Games’ is similar to the reality shows that are a rage these days, but the different themes, gifts by sponsors, the hurdles that participants go through are a product of a wonderful imagination.

2. Characters

Katniss has the right amount of softness (towards her sister) and coldness to appear as the participant who would do anything to stay alive. Even the support characters like Gale, Peta and Katniss’ mother are so well sketched out. I wish the author revealed more layers of Haymitch’s character. He seems like an interesting one, but not enough to like or dislike him.

3. Hunger/disparity

The face of hunger or the wide disparity between the haves and have-nots is depicted so well in the book. I teared up when Katniss had to volunteer to avoid Primrose going to the arena. I even felt rage at the injustice happening to the villagers in the name of ‘Games’.

4. Quick and Juicy

The book is a very quick read. All the twists and turns make this book a real pageturner and I finished reading the book in no time. Quick, enjoyable and oh so juicy. What we call as ‘instant gratification’ in the knitting world.

5. It’s a series!

I felt sad when I finished reading this book. I wanted more of it and to my surprise, I realized it is part of a trilogy. (No, I didn’t know this fact earlier). My joy knew no bound and I immediately had to check out the next book in the series.

Leave a Reply

