Challenges for 2012

Off The Shelf Challenge

This challenge is hosted by Bookish Ardour and is just what I need. I have so many books on my shelf which I bought on a whim and never bothered to read. The point of this challenge is to read all those books which are gathering dust. I aim for the Tempted level -5 books.

 

 

 

 

 

Tea and Books Reading Challenge

This challenge has two things I love: books and tea. The idea is to read any book which has more than 700 pages. Oh, well. I am faint hearted, so I aim for Chamomile Lover – 2 books. I am thinking Seth’s A Suitable Boy will definitely be read as part of this challenge.

 

 

Outdo Yourself Challenge

The challenge is to read more books in 2012 than I did in 2011. I read a  meager 26 books in 2011. I am sure I can do way better than that. I aim for Out of Breath which requires me to read 6-10 books more than what I did in 2011, a total of 32-36 books.

 

 

 

 

 

Regional Books Challenge

This is a self imposed challenge in which I want to read atleast 2 Kannada books.

Posted in 2012. 8 Comments »

8 Responses to “Challenges for 2012”

  1. The Book Vixen Says:

    God luck with your goals and thanks for participating!

  2. JoV Says:

    All the very best for 2012!

  3. Reema Sahay Says:

    For the Tea and Books challenge, even I am considering ‘A Suitable Boy’, and ‘Parva’ would be the other one.

    • anaamica Says:

      What a coincidence. I have the same two books on my list.

      Would you be interested in joining a read-along for ‘A Suitable Boy’. I have another blogger friend who is interested, so that makes it three of us. I am planning to host this read-along sometime in June.

      • Reema Sahay Says:

        Thanks. I would love to! But what exactly has to be done 🙂

      • anaamica Says:

        We will assign a time period for this book, let’s say 6 weeks. We will split up the chapters to fit into these 6 weeks, say 10 chapters a week. At the end of the week, update your status and your opinion so far, even blog about it, if you want. Nothing fancy, just that, we will be holding each others’ hands (virtually) and encouraging each other to read and finish the book.

      • Reema Sahay Says:

        That sounds great and it will keep us motivated to reach the finishing line. You know what, I am good with fat books but my only problem is taking a break of few days in between. It spoils the momentum and then I take ages to start over again!

  4. 2012 Challenges Summary: BA’s Off the Shelf Reading Challenge « Bookish Ardour Says:

    […] Fauzia 139. Jessie @ Jessie’s Remarkable Reads 140. Alexia’s Books and Such… 141. Anamika @ What I have been reading… 142. Carrie Nilles (wvredreads) 143. Beverly @ Booklady’s Booknotes 144. Robin 145. […]


Leave a Reply

