Disappear

Title: Disappear
Writers : Talitha Stevenson
Published: 2010
Genre: Fiction
My Rating: 2 on 5

The only reason I picked up this book is its attractive cover art. There is something about this hardbound book with its colorful tiny dots on a black background that made me grab it from the shelf. I had heard neither of the book nor the author, so I did not know what to expect.

Disappear is about Charlie and Leila who are recently  married, but Leila finds herself asking a divorce from her husband after revealing that she is pregnant. To salvage their marriage, Charlie takes Leila on a trip to his native land, Spain, where Leila catches him kissing another woman. Leila to decides to leave Charlie and ends up at her estranged sister, Kate. The rest of the book is about the sisters relationship and how Leila comes to term with her new life.

With books like these, characters play a very important role of pulling the reader in to become part of the story. The characters should tug at the reader’s heart or bring tears in the eyes or make the reader loathe them. Sadly, none of the characters are strong enough for the reader to grow an attachment with them. Leila is probably the weakest protagonist I have seen. She appears bland. I never got a hang of her personality, so I could not feel what she was feeling. Even Charlie’s intentions are not clear: does he want to live with her or does he want a divorce too? One character which has a bit of life is Kate’s but even that character is complicated enough.

I found the writing style not that engaging. The story moves in a smooth fashion, but the writing could have been better. And the same point applies to the characters too. The ending is intentionally kept inconclusive, which does work. If only Leila had a stronger personality so that I could feel what she was going through.

Next time I am lured by an attractive book cover, I should remind myself of the saying ‘Do not judge a book by its cover’.

Leave a Reply

