2010 – The year that went by

Books in 2010

  1. Best Book of 2010: The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Unfortunately, most of the books I read this year were just average. Water for Elephants was also a good read.
  2. Worst  Book of 2010: Zero Percentile by Neeraj Chhiba. Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks comes a close second.
    Birdsong just didn’t work for me.
  3. Most Disappointing Book of 2010: Roots by Alex Haley. It was highly recommended to me by many people. The book didn’t live up to the recommendation and the praise.
  4. Most Surprising (in a good way) Book of 2010: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. This has to be the most charming book I read this year.
  5. Book You Recommended the Most to People in 2010: The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I recommended it to anybody who cared to listen.
  6. Best Series You Discovered in 2010: The Millennium Series, David Lodge Trilogy. David Lodge was recommended to me by my friend and I really like his writing style.
  7. Favourite New Authors Discovered in 2010: Stieg Larsson, Maraget Atwood

  8. Most Hilarious Read of 2010: Changing Places by David Lodge
  9. Most Thrilling Unputdownable Read of 2010: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  10. Books You Most Anticipated in 2010: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. I had been hearing about this book all the time and had to read it to see for myself.
  11. Favourite Cover of a Book You Read in 2010: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  12. Most Memorable Character of 2010: Lisbeth Salander from The Millennium Series, Aibileen Clark and Minny Jackson from The Help
  13. Most Beautifully Written Book of 2010: The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
  14. Book That Had the Greatest Impact on You in 2010: The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  15. Book You Can’t Believe You Waited Until 2010 to Read: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. Seriously! This book is for kids. I don’t know why I hadn’t read it all this while.

Book-Blogging in 2010

  1. New Favourite Book Blog Discovered in 2010: Bibliojunkie, Book Nook

  2. Favourite Review You Wrote in 2010: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  3. Best Discussion Had on Your Blog: None
  4. Most Thought Provoking Review or Discussion Read on Another Blog: None
  5. Best Event That You Participated In: None
  6. Best Moment of Book Blogging in 2010: I can’t name one single moment, but I always enjoyed writing reviews on my blog.

  7. Best Bookish Discovery: All the new blogs I discovered.
Posted in 2010. 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “2010 – The year that went by”

  1. JoV Says:

    awww.. thanks for the mention.. I’ll be doing the same meme soon. Need to get going with it! Happy New Year!

  2. JoV Says:

    I forgot to mention that I really would like to read: The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I used to have domestic helper at one time, it would be interesting to know if some of the stuff mention is indeed deja vu. 😉

  3. mrigank Says:

    hey, i loved ‘Roots’? i read it some years ago, and i remember being astounded by it. another book which is something like that is ‘Thornbirds’ by Collen McCullough. and i’m currently reading One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, which promises to be better than either of them. i can’t put it down.
    i think you mentioned ‘A Suitable Boy’ in an earlier post…it’s one of the most entertaining books i’ve read. even though it’s humongous, i would’ve been happier if it never ended. i hear he’s writing a sequel…yippee!

    • anaamica Says:

      It’s interesting that you named these three books in the same sentence – I didn’t like either of them. ‘Thornbirds’ was still okay, but I couldn’t read even a few pages of ‘One hundred years of solitude’. I was wondering if something was wrong with my taste, but now that you mention these three books, I am reassured that I just don’t like these kind of books – alteast I am consistent!

      I plan to read ‘A suitable boy’ this year, hopefully as part of a read-along hosted by a friend. Yes, Seth plans to release ‘A suitable girl’ very soon.

  4. JoV Says:

    Re: A Suitable Boy. Wait for me Ana. I think I would be able to organise the read-along some time around August this year. Need to wait till things ease up a little!


Leave a Reply

