Life is full of challenges

The coming year is going to be eventful and interesting for me – atleast in terms of books and reading. I am going to sign up for challenges (and quite a few at that) which I have never done before.

1. I have already signed up for the Nordic Challenge 2011. I am aiming for Freya which requires me to read 3-5 books from Nordic authors.

2. I have always wanted to read Haruki Marukami and God knows why I haven’t done so till now. Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge 2011 will urge me to finally get down to doing that. I aim for Sheep Man which requires me to read 3 Murakami books.

3. Since I am always trying out new authors, The New Author Challenge 2011 suits me just right. The challenge here is to read a minimum of 15 new authors which sounds a bit difficult, but that’s why it’s called a challenge, right?

4. After I read a new author or a first book in the series, more often than not, I go back to read a second book from the same author or the second book in the series. So, it’s only natural that I sign up for the 2nds Challenge 2011. I am aiming for Just a Spoonful – 3 books. I already have a candidate for this – Amitava Ghosh. I read his The Calcutta Chromosome and wasn’t particularly impressed with it. I want to give him a try again and read The Hungry Tide or Sea of Poppies. This list will draw inspiration from the previous challenge.

5. There are so many books on the 1001 books to read before you die list that I want to read. I am signing up for the 1001 books to read before you die challenge and hoping to reduce the size of my TBR list. I aim for High School Diploma which requires me to read 5 books on the list.

6. I want to reduce the size of my TBR list, so I am signing up for The 2011 TBR Pile Challenge.

The most difficult part of this challenge is to make a list of books that you plan to read for this challenge. I had a tough time choosing only 12 from my humongous list.

1    The Time Traveller’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
2    In Cold Blood – Truman Capote
3    Middlesex – Jeffrey Eugenides
4    Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance – Robert M. Pirsig
5    Slaughterhouse-five – Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.
6    Family Matters – Rohinton Mistry
7    Daddy Long-Legs    – Jean Webster
8    A Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess
9    The Color of Magic – Terry Prachett
10  For Whom the Bell Tolls – Ernest Hemingway
11   Frankenstein – Mary Shelly
12   The Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka

Alternatives

1  The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy
2  Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
3 A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
4 The Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
5 The Art of War – Sun Tzu
6 The Power of Now – Eckhart Tolle

I am ready! I can’t wait for this year to end and the next one to begin.

11 Responses to “Life is full of challenges”

  1. parrish Says:

    Wow you’ve got some really good challenges here, so much so that your plates so full, you’ll need a trencher.

  2. choirul Says:

    thank you for the information

    it’s nice…………….

  3. Caitie F Says:

    Those are some great challenges – I am doing several of them too! Murakami is fantastic and I can’t wait to read more from him!

  4. JoV Says:

    Ahhh.. you have got bitten by the reading challenges bug now! Hurray!!

    I have my eyes on some of these challenges, but you know which are the ones I have signed up to. I’m trying to keep a tab on them, so 4 will do.

    Somewhere along the line, we can read Middlesex together, tell me when you are starting and we can timed out reviews and discussed. I also planning to read The Suitable Boy, and that book sure needs company to withstand those long hours of heavy lifting and reading that humongous book. I am planning to read Wuthering Heights with Jenny of New York in Spring, you can always come join us then.

    • anaamica Says:

      I have to say the inspiration comes from you, JoV. I have signed up for all these challenges on an impulse and I do hope I can pull them off. Read-a-long sounds great. Let me know when you plan to start Wuthering Heights and I will join in the fun. I agree – A Suitable Boy definitely needs company. You can host a read-along on your blog. I am sure many people will join.

  5. tanabata Says:

    Thanks for joining the Haruki Murakami challenge. I look forward to hearing what you think of his books, especially since you’ll be experiencing his stuff for the first time. 🙂

  6. opickaza Says:

    is very good article


Leave a Reply

