Nordic Challenge 2011

 

When JoV, my literary friend, mentioned about the Nordic Challenge 2011, I was all excited to take it up. I have never taken a challenge like this one before and I was nervous initially. I have never made any promises to myself about reading. I do try to read 52 books a year, but have never achieved that. Also, I wasn’t sure my local library stacked Nordic books. JoV gave me a list of well-known authors and books which I should be able to find in my local library, so I am going to give this challenge a go. I am not being too ambitious and aiming for Freya, which requires me to read 3-5 books.

Here is a tentative list of books which I will be reading for this challenge.

1. Faceless Killers by Henning Mankell
Wiki says this is the first book in the Wallander series. Looks like a good place to start.

2. The Redeemer by Jo Nesbo
The first in the Harry Hole series.

3. The Unit by Ninni Holmqvist
JoV highly recommended this, but my library doesnt’ stock it. I am putting it on the list hoping to find it in a bookstore.

4. In the Wake – Per Petterson
Just because it is available in my library.

5. Any Mankell or Nesbo available

 

Zee’s resource list came in really handy. I will have to watch this list closely to see if some new authors get a mention.

 

2 Responses to “Nordic Challenge 2011”

  1. JoV Says:

    Awww… thanks for the mention. I haven’t read The Unit by Ninni Holmqvist, myself, but read this review:

    http://rhapsodyinbooks.wordpress.com/2010/09/11/review-of-%e2%80%9cthe-unit%e2%80%9d-by-ninni-holmqvist/

    Enjoy! Now we are reading challenge buddies again. 😀


Leave a Reply

