RIP Erich Segal

I just read this on another blog. Erich Segal died yesterday at the age of 72. He was suffering from Parkinson’s disease since 25 years.

Who hasn’t read Love Story? I read this book when I was a little girl with dreams of Prince Charming and Mr.Perfect. No wonder this book had a big impact on me. I still remember the famous opening lines of the book.

What can you say about a 25 year old girl who died? That she was beautiful and brilliant? That she loved Mozart and Bach, the Beatles, and me?

You know the girl is going to die as soon as you start reading the book, yet you hope against hopes that she survives somehow. You still bawl when you read the last page and close the book. You continue to cry even half an hour after reading the book. This is a book which remains very close to my heart. There is no logic here, I simply love it. No questions asked.

RIP Erich Segal. May this earth be blessed with more writers like you.

Leave a Reply

