It’s a Mom – Shefali Tsabary

This was a present from my brother to a new mom – Me. I started this book with a lot of enthusiasm. I wanted to know how another new mom felt. I had my own emotions alright, but was curious to know if other mothers felt the same way I did.

The book starts with pregnancy – how the author realized that she is pregnant, how she went through those nine months and goes on to talk about eventually having a baby and bringing it up. The book  covers topics like breastfeeding, weaning, potty training, pacifiers, terrible twos, toddler tantrums and so on.

The author complains about people giving out unwanted advice to new mothers, but she does exactly that. She could just narrate what she went through and leave the audience to decide what they want to do when they are in a similar situation. Just because some methods worked for her and her baby, they may not work for every child in this world. I will ask her to try the same methods with her second baby. She will be surprised to see how (in)effective they prove to be. And just by having a baby, the author doesn’t turn into a know-it-all.  The author takes an authoritative tone throughout the book, which I found very irritating.

While it was interesting to read the author’s views, I noticed a pessimistic undercurrent throughout the book. I know motherhood is not a bed of roses. Yes, there are sleepless nights, incessant crying,  handling tantrums and losing one’s personal life, but motherhood is also about toothless smiles, cooing, snuggling, cuddling, wet kisses and warm hugs. Where does the author talk about all these? An extended case of PPD, may be?

If you are planning to start a fmaily or already on the way, please stay away from this book. You will feel like you have gotten yourself into a mess! And new moms, if you think you can handle so much pessimism, then only read this book.

6 Responses to “It’s a Mom – Shefali Tsabary”

  1. Toddler Beds & Bedding Says:

    […] Its a Mom – Shefali Tsabary […]

  2. DR.Joshi Says:

    Need some copyes of this book for my organization
    please send mail with detail about Book seller in Hyderabad AP
    Reagards
    Dr.Joshi

  3. Jessica Says:

    I just finished reading this book and I LOVED it! My son is two years old and finally I found a book that resonates with the REAL experience of being a first-time mother. Rather than simply sugar coating the mothering experience, this book goes to a deeper, unacknowledged level – the emotions of the mother. I found the author’s voice to be refreshingly honest – I really liked how she used her own experience to reach other women. I disagree with the comment above that the tone of the book was pessimistic – instead, I found it to be very down to earth, covering the real stuff – the stuff that no one wants to talk about. I did the research on this author and found that she is a licensed clinical psychologist from Columbia University in New York, and she apparently lectures on parenting around the world.

  4. Magdelena Lindstrom Says:

    Thanks so much for your work. I wish I had had this when I was a new mom, but see how I can get gold out of it even though my children are not toddlers anymore.

  5. Magdelena Lindstrom Says:

    Thanks so much for your work. I wish I had had this when I was a new mom, but I appreciate how I can get gold out of it even though my children are not toddlers anymore. I think part of what is wonderful about this book is the way the author sees meaning in the patterns of relationships, in the flow of events, and in the timing of daily interactions. The book has given me a new appreciation of the value of time: its exploration of the value and the uniqueness of each moment and the specific quality each moment have pushed me to a sharp sense of Now, and a desire to live each moment more fully, trusting my sense of what is right. I know if I can hold to this new found sense I will be able to be more present to my children.

  6. Magdelena Lindstrom Says:

    Thanks so much for your work. I wish I had had this when I was a new mom, but I appreciate how I can get gold out of it even though my children are not toddlers anymore. I think part of what is wonderful about this book is the way the author sees meaning in the patterns of relationships, in the flow of events, and in the timing of daily interactions. The book has given me a new appreciation of the value of time: its exploration of the value and the uniqueness of each moment and the specific quality each moment has pushed me to a sharp sense of Now, and a desire to live each moment more fully, trusting my sense of what is right. I know if I can hold to this new found sense I will be able to be more present to my children.


Leave a Reply

