Man Booker 2008 Shortlist

The Man Booker 2008 shortlist is out.

Aravind Adiga –  The White Tiger
Sebastian Barry – The Secret Scripture
Amitav Ghosh – Sea of Poppies
Linda Grant – The Clothes on Their Backs
Philip Hensher – The Northern Clemency
Steve Toltz – A Fraction of the Whole

How many of these have I read? Zilch!

Surprisingly, the Booker favorite Salman Rushdie is not on the list! Many first time authors are on the list and two nominations from India! I have read good things about Sea of poppies. Have no idea about The white tiger. Going only by the titles, I am intrigued by The Clothes on their backs. A fraction of the whole sounds so plain. I mean, fraction is a part of whole, isn’t it?

Now that the list is announced, one will see more and more of The white tiger and Sea of poppies on footpaths. As Jeffrey Archer says ‘In India, a book’s popularity can be measured by how soon it appears on roadisdes’.

4 Responses to “Man Booker 2008 Shortlist”

  1. maryam Says:

    hi
    Im so glod to find your blog.It seems good if you tell the reader about these books when you read them and tell your idea.
    best wishes

  2. John Self Says:

    Rushdie was the favourite according to the media and bookmakers, but only because he was the most famous name on there!

    I’ve read all the longlisted titles (see my blog) and my favourite was The Clothes on their Backs, so I am glad to see it there. But I must say it was a weak year for the Booker: I wasn’t impressed by most of the longlist.

    Of the two Indian titles on the shortlist, I liked Sea of Poppies and hated The White Tiger – most people seem to agree on Ghosh, but Adiga’s book has really split opinion. Someone on my blog told me I couldn’t have read it properly if I didn’t like it!

    I am currently reading a book which would have been eligible for the Booker, and is set in India (but not by an Indian writer) and which I think is better than many of the Booker longlisted titles. It’s Dreams of Rivers and Seas by Tim Parks. I’ll be writing about it on my blog next week.

    The idea of books appearing on roadsides sounds curious! Can you explain?

  3. Anaamica Says:

    I don’t like Rushdie, so I am not sad he is not on the list. Thanks for the heads up on ‘Dreams of Rivers and Seas’. I will check if I can get it here.

    Piracy is highly prevalent in India. Whenever a new book hits the stores, within days (sometimes hours) a pirated copy appears on the roadsides. You can spot these roadside vendors usually around a famous bookstores. The original book may cost Rs. 250-500 and the pirated copy will definitely be below Rs.100. Naturally, there are many buyers.

    When Archer visited India for his latest book release, he said he knew his book was a success in India because he spotted one on the roadside!

  4. Brijesh Says:

    Wonderful blog. Do you still write about Kannada?


Leave a Reply

