My Sister’s Keeper: Jodi Picoult

I had heard a lot about this book and had to give it a try. I am glad I did. This is one of the most touching books I have read till now.

I did not know anything about the book, which was good in a way, because I was completely shocked when I started reading it. Kate and Anna are sisters. Kate, the elder one, is diagnosed with leukemia and can be saved by stem cell transplantation. She needs an exact match donor for this. Enter Anna. She is genetically created (as in the embryo is created) to become the exact match for her sister and the donor, the savior is born. Kate has a kidney failure and needs her sister’s kidney to stay alive. The story takes a turn when Anna files a suit against her parents claiming medical emancipation and refuses to donate her kidney.

The book is a mixture of different emotions of interesting characters. At the center of the book we have Anna. She is torn between saving her sister’s life and standing for her own rights. She shares a warm relationship with her sister and still refuses to donate her organ. Sara, Anna’s mother, is torn between her two daughters. She wants to save her daughter’s life at any cost and is shocked by Anna’s refusal. Brian, Anna’s father, agrees with Anna, but wants her to save Kate’s life. None of the character is sure of what he/she is doing. Some of the scenes are just too touching. I was crying in some places.

What I really liked about the book is the author’s ability to convince the reader that every character’s opinion is correct. When the focus is on Anna, I felt her reasoning to be logical and found myself supporting her. When the focus is on Kate, I sympathized with her. When the author was talking about Sara, I too felt torn between my daughters and couldn’t make up my mind which one I should support.

If you are looking for an emotionally heavy book and do not mind sniffling while reading, pick up this book. This may not be one of my favorite books, but this is one of the most memorable ones for sure.

Leave a Reply

