Baagilindaache, pogadirelo ranga : Vasudendra

This does not qualify as a book review, but hardly does one come across a gem in the regional languages section. I am proud to write a review of a Kannada short story I recently read.

The story is “Baagilindaache, pogadirelo ranga” by Vasudhendra. The story borrows its title from the famous Kannada song which starts with the same words, but the story itself has very little to do with the song. I am not an avid Kannada reader, but when I read this story, I felt sorry for myself for not keeping myself up to date on Kannada literature front.

The story is about a 13-year old boy, Putta, who visits his grandmother during his vacation. The story spans over 2 days of this boy’s life and covers all emotions and experiences that a boy of his age can have. The boy acts childish, under-aged compared to his actual age, but probably that was intentional. The characters are etched beautifully, especially the boy, Putta and his friend, Tayanna.

The story gives a stark contrast of a village life and a city life. One can’t help feeling sorry for Putta who has always grown up in his mother’s care. Once he leaves her saree end and enters the village life does he realize what he had been missing. He sees Tayanna as a completely different person even though both are of the same age. Once Putta realizes how different and inferior he is compared to Tayanna, his life changes.

The story moves quickly. Writing is smooth, though at times the sentences become too long and the dialogues are written as sentences, which become quite cumbersome to read. Good use of names and dialogues seem natural.

A very good story which touched me deeply because I am one of those fortunate ones who was born and brought up in a village. Now I live in a city and feel sorry for all the kids here.

You can read the story online.  Please note that the story is in Kannada font. If you have trouble reading it in Firefox, try it in IE.

Courtesy: Vikrant Karnataka.

10 Responses to “Baagilindaache, pogadirelo ranga : Vasudendra”

  1. decemberstud Says:

    Awesome story, thanks for the link. I totally agree that the kid should have been something like 8 or 9 or 10. And, the very last paragraph was totally out of context.

    Thanks for the link.

  2. generally Says:

    You are welcome. Actually, a friend of mine gave me the link, so this thanks is actually for him.

    About the last paragraph: In fact, the last paragraph was what touched me the most. I found the last few lines as summarizing the anguish, the revolt that Putta was going through. And his emotions are so clearly shown . As they say “show, don’t tell” mantra at its best.

  3. decemberstud Says:

    LOL sure…but my point was that the last paragraph is not that practical at all…so that takes a little shine away from the rich story. Just my opinion….

  4. generally Says:

    Sure, you are welcome to voice your opinion. What is a discussion without differing opinions?

  5. decemberstud Says:

    NP…oh BTW Vasudhendra asked me to thank you very much for all the good words (and publicity ? 😉 ).

  6. generally Says:

    What? You know him personally? Hmm…. that’s something. Please give my regards to Vasudhendra. Thank him for visiting my site.
    I am reading his “Nammamma andre nangishta” book and the review will be here soon, so ask him to watch out. This time words might not be all that good. 😉
    BTW, ask him if he is willing to give an interview for my blog readers 🙂

  7. decemberstud Says:

    Just saw your comment. I sure will let him know…and I’ll get back to you.

  8. Bhoomika Says:

    Sir, I tried to read the story ‘online’. But, http://www.vikrantakarnataka.com is asking for username and password. I tried a lot but invain. Help me please.

  9. Shyamsundar Joshi Says:

    Hey Vasu,

    I tried reading your books thr all websites but alas! with no luck, I had read a small story some years ago about your visit to Sandur thr Hospet by travelling in SVK bus and recalling your childhood days and enjoy of innocense of those joyful days. I am also from Sandur and junior to u and classmate of Hulikuntachar Madhu, his brother Mohan and Guru, Fathe Ahmed are all my friends, am residing at Kumaraswamy Layout, Bangalore since 10 years. Please send your contact address with email id and details about your comic books. Hope u will not disappoint me.


Leave a Reply

